The Gyula needle dam was built in 1896 to supply water to Gyula, Békéscsaba and Békés, by replenishing the water in the dry riverbed (now known as the Living Water Canal) running through those three cities. After 200 years of operation, the needle dam was dismantled and replaced with a modern hose dam. To preserve this singular engineering monument of Hungary, the Körös Valley District Water Directorate opened an exhibit room in the new control building that showcases the history of this facility that is more than 100 years old. The exhibit includes original photographs and designs. In addition to the showroom, those who are interested in this unique needle dam structure can see some of its original parts, which have been placed on the riverbanks.
- 5700 Gyula, Kisökör járás 15.